Staredit Network > Forums > SC2 Assistance > Topic: Creating a Skill shot?
Creating a Skill shot?
Jan 15 2012, 8:43 am
By: wakkwakk  

Jan 15 2012, 8:43 am wakkwakk Post #1

First time post in the StarEdit forums..

I'm fairly new to the SC editor and could really use some help. Do you guys have resources or advice for a beginner to be able to make a skill shot based attack? Something simliar too the skill shot in this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qibb3x2veLg.

Thanks in advance, I really need the help.

None.

Jan 15 2012, 4:18 pm Roy Post #2

An artist's depiction of an Extended Unit Death

Welcome to SEN!

There's a really nice tutorial on creating a shock-wave ability here: http://rileystarcraft.blogspot.com/2010/05/tutorial-how-to-create-shockwave.html

The only thing you'd want to change from it is how it handles damage. I would be lazy and just make a trigger checking if it collides with an enemy and detonates on the unit if it does.

Jan 15 2012, 4:25 pm DevliN Post #3

OVERWATCH STATUS GO

If the ability is missile-based, you can also just attach the Suicide effect to it so it explodes on impact.

\:devlin\: Currently Working On: \:devlin\:
My Overwatch addiction.

Jan 15 2012, 4:49 pm Ahli Post #4

I do stuff and thingies... Try widening and reducing the number of small nooks and crannies to correct the problem.

To let a missile fly into a direction, you need to create a persistent effect and launch the missile to a point with an offset.

To hit something on contact, you need to give the missile a behavior that periodically executes a search effect searching for enemies.

I've made an example for that and attached it to this post.

You could extend it to explode on cliff level changes, but I've never done that.

Attachments:
skillshotTest.SC2Map
Hits: 14 Size: 12.18kb

Jan 15 2012, 5:22 pm Aniketos Post #5

Quote from Ahli