Staredit Network > Forums > Modding Assistance > Topic: A few questions dealing with modding
A few questions dealing with modding
Jul 17 2008, 2:03 am
By: Mahajarama  

Jul 17 2008, 2:03 am Mahajarama Post #1

Hi, I am new to both this community and the concept of modding, so I apologize for asking what may seem to be "newbish" questions. I may edit this topic from time to time to add more questions (To prevent flooding of topics).

First question: Is there a way to make larvae spawn around a certain unit, other than a hatchery/lair/hive? I tried toggling the "Script (Spread creep & spawn larva)" AI action in datedit; however, it's not doing anything.

Thanks in advance.

None.

Jul 17 2008, 2:06 am FlyingHat Post #2

Quote from Mahajarama
Hi, I am new to both this community and the concept of modding, so I apologize for asking what may seem to be "newbish" questions. I may edit this topic from time to time to add more questions (To prevent flooding of topics).

First question: Is there a way to make larvae spawn around a certain unit, other than a hatchery/lair/hive? I tried toggling the "Script (Spread creep & spawn larva)" AI action in datedit; however, it's not doing anything.

Thanks in advance.
Hi, we're all glad to have you in the community. To answer the question, there is no way to make larvae spawn around a moving unit because larvae are hardcoded. Meaning that Blizzard coded the unit so that current modding tools cannot mess with it. Other hardcoded things include mind control, the queen, the siege tank's transform animation, and quite a few other units. It's best to leave them alone to avoid crashes. Unless if you're making a simple graphical change or if you're just making minor changes in DatEdit.

None.

Jul 17 2008, 2:43 am WoAHorde Post #3