Staredit Network > Forums > Technology & Computers > Topic: Started making a PC.
Started making a PC.
Jun 15 2009, 6:52 pm
By: Praetor
Pages: 1 2 3 >
 

Jun 15 2009, 6:52 pm Praetor Post #1

layin' in the cut

Finally, I have begun my epic project of making the most kickass gaming PC ever, including such luxuries as 12 GB RAM, 3 24" monitors, several video cards, i7 proc, etc.

I am going to start ordering parts within the next couple weeks, and I've got a list of all the parts I'm getting (some to be finalized such as the type/brand of RAM and videocards, whether it will be fan or liquid cooled, stuff like that.)

Now you can no longer call me a macfag!

woooooot



this too shall pass

Jun 15 2009, 8:23 pm Falkoner Post #2



Why the frick would you ever need 12 GB of RAM?



None.

Jun 15 2009, 8:50 pm Excalibur Post #3

The sword and the faith

How much you spending Pred? Can we see this parts list?




SEN Global Moderator and Resident Zealot
-------------------------
The sword and the faith.

:ex:
Sector 12
My stream, live PC building and tech discussion.

Jun 15 2009, 9:11 pm Praetor Post #4

layin' in the cut

My budget is around 3500-4000 CAD including the monitors, gaming mouse and g19 keyboard.



this too shall pass

Jun 15 2009, 9:21 pm Praetor Post #5

layin' in the cut

Haha, I earned it by working my ass off as a courtesy clerk at Safeway Canada.



this too shall pass

Jun 15 2009, 9:30 pm Excalibur Post #6

The sword and the faith

Praetor, let me be frank:
IP wanted to lock this topic because until you provide something to discuss, it's straightforward boasting. I said no, let me post and ask him to put up the parts list, which we can discuss, that way it wont have to be locked.

Provide discussion or I am going to have to lock this topic as being pointless.




SEN Global Moderator and Resident Zealot
-------------------------
The sword and the faith.

:ex:
Sector 12
My stream, live PC building and tech discussion.

Jun 15 2009, 9:43 pm Praetor Post #7

layin' in the cut

What RAM/video card should I get?

Should I liquid cool? If I do liquid cool what are some things to keep in mind?



this too shall pass

Jun 15 2009, 9:47 pm Falkoner Post #8



If you're planning on overclocking it, liquid cool. According to some pages I've seen you can easily OC the i7 to 4 ghz, also, can you post a list of parts you're planning on currently?



None.

Jun 15 2009, 9:51 pm Praetor Post #9

layin' in the cut

KK I have them written down so I will have to type them out. When that's done I will edit this post.

Edit: my internet is shitting out right now and is going unbearably slow, so I don't know if I'll be able to post them right now but I will do it eventually

Post has been edited 1 time(s), last time on Jun 15 2009, 10:21 pm by Praetor.



this too shall pass

Jun 15 2009, 10:27 pm Excalibur Post #10

The sword and the faith

You do not liquid cool unless you know EXACTLY what you are doing. I don't even consider it, it is a long expensive process and is not easy to do. The choice of waterblocks, tubing, radiators, and other components has to be carefully considered.

Praetor, I doubt you're going to be able to push your i7 on air far enough that temps will be the limiting factor. Usually voltage becomes the problem, which no cooling is going to solve.

I'll draw you up an i7 build of newegg.ca.




SEN Global Moderator and Resident Zealot
-------------------------
The sword and the faith.

:ex:
Sector 12
My stream, live PC building and tech discussion.

Jun 15 2009, 10:46 pm Excalibur Post #11

The sword and the faith

Ok, i7 build off Newegg.ca for $2,944.38 CD before tax and ship. Since I am not in CA I can't check the tax and ship.

Case: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119160
Monitor: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236033 (x2)
GFX: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102809 (x2)
DVD: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827106275
PSU: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139007
RAM: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145242 (x2)
Mobo: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813136065
CPU: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115202
CPU Cooler: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835608007
HDD: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136319

Why these?
The case is the CM HAF. The only fulltower case I will ever recommend. It has amazing airflow, and it looks like a beast. None of that Antec shit up in here.

Monitors are both 24" at 1900x1200 with 2ms latency, which is excellent.

4 GPUs at work with 4850x2 crossfire.

DVD drive is a dvd drive. Meh.

PSU is a Corsair 1000w. Corsair always produces excellent parts.

Again, Corsair quality RAM right here. 7 CAS latency is very nice for DDR3 1600.

Motherboard is DFI. After purchasing a DFI P35 and being burned by MSI twice, I will never ever ever recommend anything other than DFI boards. They are simply the best. They look killer and overclock like monsters, there is no other choice.

CPU is the 920, there's no reason to spend any more with how high these babies clock. 3GHz is a cakewalk. You can probably get 3.6-3.8 easily with...

...The CPU cooler, which is the Noctua NH-U12P. Every review I've seen of this cooler has praised it, and I am inclined to agree.

Newegg doesn't carry thermal paste for Canada, but I suggest you pick up a tube of OCZ Freezer or Arctic MX-2.

I added the HDDs last and I didn't refresh the page, but the WD Caviar Black drives are extremely fast. You wont find anything at 7200RPM to outperform them.




SEN Global Moderator and Resident Zealot
-------------------------
The sword and the faith.

:ex:
Sector 12
My stream, live PC building and tech discussion.

Jun 16 2009, 12:37 am Praetor Post #12

layin' in the cut

You're a champ.

Edit:
My friend who is into building computers says that the case here
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129058
or here
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129021
would be better than the one you suggested
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119160

but I have no idea.

Also, what kind of connections does that monitor have? Would I be able to hook my 360 up to it and quickly change back and forth between inputs?

Edit 3:
This is the convo with the guy I know, I edited it a bit for readability.
Collapsable Box


Post has been edited 5 time(s), last time on Jun 16 2009, 1:05 am by Praetor.



this too shall pass

Jun 16 2009, 1:23 am Excalibur Post #13

The sword and the faith

If you build an Antec case, you will get no help from me WHAT SO EVER. So choose wisely.

Also, mine is a full tower, those are only mid towers. Since you are going with 2 GPUs, a full tower would be better.

DFI is better than the Giga board, and I'd like to see him 'do better'.

Look Prae, I'm not going to play shot for shot with your friend. You either take my build or you don't, and from what I've seen from him so far, he has no fucking idea what he's doing. Honestly, a mid tower with 2x 4850x2s? Is he retarded?




SEN Global Moderator and Resident Zealot
-------------------------
The sword and the faith.

:ex:
Sector 12
My stream, live PC building and tech discussion.

Jun 16 2009, 1:24 am ShadowFlare Post #14



I have the Asus VH226H, which basically has the same connections as that other monitor. I hook up my Xbox 360 to the monitor by HDMI and use the stereo mini-jack to get the audio on my speakers (so that I don't need the HDMI kit from Microsoft). This is the HDMI cable I use and it works fine between the Xbox 360 and my Asus monitor: http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812816002
Though you can get a longer cable for no additional cost, I wouldn't recommend it if you don't need it, as a shorter cable run is least likely to give you any issues.

If you have the older Xbox 360 without HDMI, you could get the VGA adapter that Microsoft makes (though not from Newegg Canada, apparently). On regular Newegg, just so you can see it: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16874103025

If you care about the aspect ratio, that monitor should have a setting to preserve the ratio, according to the listed specs.

As far as Asus monitors, there's also either of these two:
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236048
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236049

Other than that one has a web cam and the other does not, they are identical. If you opt for one of those, you could just get whichever is currently cheaper (currently the web cam version for some reason). These are basically a larger version of the monitor I have. Compared with the MK241H, they will be slightly shorter but slightly wider than it because of the difference in aspect ratio.

The MK241H mentions something about "Color Saturation 92% (NTSC)" but I don't know what the others are. It does have a higher maximum brightness than the others. I don't really know whether either of these things are significant or not.

Post has been edited 1 time(s), last time on Jun 16 2009, 1:45 am by ShadowFlare.



None.

Jun 17 2009, 5:46 am Sael Post #15



Don't waste your money on a 4850x2. If you're spending that much money on a PC, I'd go with the safe route and get a faster single gpu solution, like the 4890 or GTX 285. Those dual-gpu cards never work as well as buying two separate single-gpu cards. Really no reason why you should go beyond 6 Gb of Ram right now either. Since you called it a gaming PC in the OP, I presume you won't be doing too memory intensive apps on there. I might also suggest a Blu-ray player if you want another bragging right for it. I personally use http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824254026 as my monitor, but those ones look fine too. When I upgraded my monitor, going from 20" to 24" didn't seem like a big enough upgrade, so I went ahead and got this 28" monitor (and now they're saying it's 27.5", big difference).



None.

Jun 17 2009, 5:54 am Excalibur Post #16

The sword and the faith

I don't disagree with you Sael, I just gave him what he asked for.




SEN Global Moderator and Resident Zealot
-------------------------
The sword and the faith.

:ex:
Sector 12
My stream, live PC building and tech discussion.

Jun 17 2009, 7:48 am BeDazed Post #17



Why the frick would you ever need 3 monitors anyhow? It's hard even using 2 at once.



None.

Jun 17 2009, 6:06 pm Falkoner Post #18



Quote
Why the frick would you ever need 3 monitors anyhow? It's hard even using 2 at once.

Psh, get 8 and then you can see behind you!



None.

Jun 17 2009, 10:38 pm ShadowFlare Post #19



With two of that card, you could hook up 8. ^^



None.

Jun 18 2009, 9:28 pm Sael Post #20



I see that we've forgotten a few key components. Onboard sound might be fine for lesser PCs, but if you're spending this much, no reason why you can't spend $300 or so on a nice sound card and speaker combo.

At least for speakers, the Logitech Z-5500s are fantastic (I personally use the Z-5450s, which are just like the Z-5500s except that the rear 2 satellites are wireless). I know that I will be using them for MANY years - they just sound that good. For sound cards, any $75+ sound card from Creative, Asus, HT Omega, etc. will serve you fine. Even if you don't splurge on a sound card, I highly recommend giving yourself a nice set of speakers.



None.

Options
Pages: 1 2 3 >
  Back to forum
Please log in to reply to this topic or to report it.
Members in this topic: None.
[06:26 am]
UndeadStar -- :wob:
[2024-5-22. : 6:10 am]
Riney -- Somethings never change.
[2024-5-22. : 6:10 am]
Riney -- I come back after 4 months. Post wob. Make a crappy post in Null. Hit a 0 in magic boxes.
[2024-5-22. : 6:00 am]
Riney -- :wob:
[2024-5-20. : 3:08 pm]
Sylph-Of-Space -- woah! nice! thank you!
[2024-5-20. : 4:05 am]
O)FaRTy1billion[MM] -- the setting exists, it's just hidden in a weird place
[2024-5-20. : 4:04 am]
O)FaRTy1billion[MM] -- instead change "Microtile Overlay" to "Impassable"
[2024-5-20. : 4:04 am]
O)FaRTy1billion[MM] -- er, wait, idk why i was looking for height
[2024-5-20. : 4:03 am]
O)FaRTy1billion[MM] -- below the minimap should be a thing that says "Overlay Settings" with a little + button in the corner, press the + to expand it, uncheck Use Defaults, then change "Tile Overlay" to "Height"
[2024-5-20. : 3:57 am]
Sylph-Of-Space -- Unless I'm dum (possible)
Please log in to shout.


Members Online: Roy, NudeRaider, lil-Inferno