Staredit Network > Forums > Technology & Computers > Topic: Started making a PC.
Started making a PC.
Jun 15 2009, 6:52 pm
By: Praetor
Pages: < 1 2 3

Aug 7 2009, 5:48 am Praetor Post #41

layin' in the cut

OK so I am going to order probably within a week and the last time I posted I didn't really get responses that helped.

I am aiming for a setup that will be used as a multimedia PC, everyday use, and gaming. I have never really had a computer that could handle the latest games, so now is the time for me to get one.

This is my first time making a computer.

Requirements that I want are:
1. A high amount of RAM. I want this computer to handle everything I throw at it, for at least the next few years.

2. A very good GPU(s). As I said, this is primarily for gaming. I don't care how many there are, but it has to perform.

3. At least a decent soundcard. I listen to quite a bit of music and watch lots of movies, it doesn't have to be the very greatest although I would like my stuff to sound good.

4. 3 monitors, at least 24" for all of them. I was thinking 2x 24" monitors and 1x 28", but in this regard I am flexible. At least one of the monitors has to have the ability to switch to my 360's input quickly (I have an Elite so I have the cables etc)

5. Fast HDD(s). One will be the main one (the fastest) but I also need a ridiculous amount of space for my movies and music. No solid state though. Perhaps a 10000rpm smaller hard drive and a slower 1TB?

6. DVD burner. At least one.

7. Maybe bluray. Depending on cost, but definitely not at the top of my list.

8. A good processor. Really don't know much about them, and I don't know what to get. I plan to OC.

9. Good cooling. The quieter the better, but it's not a dealbreaker if its loud.

10. A spacious case that will allow me to upgrade easily in the future.

11. Again I don't really know about motherboards, but obviously it has to be compatible with all the other parts.

12. Any other stuff I may have missed/PSU/etc