Staredit Network > Forums > SC1 Melee Map Projects > Topic: (2)Winter Assault
(2)Winter Assault
Dec 26 2008, 9:22 pm
By: Szgk  

Dec 26 2008, 9:22 pm Szgk Post #1

Hi, this is my first serious (or at least semi-serious :P) attempt at melee mapmaking that I put together today. I wanted this to be a fast-paced map with plenty strategical possibilities for each race. I did this mainly by limiting the open space to move around, making it somewhat difficult to quickly maneuver ground troops, therefore making scouting and proper placement of your forces vital.

I'm not too experienced in map balance, but I tried to follow the guidelines from the sticky. :) What I've given most thought is Terran balance. There's some space for setting up containment on the cliffs, which I balanced by making starting bases without tight chokepoints and with two entrances. As I see it, the battle on this map would focus on the middle expos - the double mineral on the top and the mineral-gas at the bottom. Holding the first one can lead to a great economical advantage, but it is difficult to secure properly, with three ramps and two passages from the main bases leading directly to it.

Attachments:
winterassault.jpg
Hits: 30 Size: 129.95kb
Winter Assault.scx
Hits: 3 Size: 67.93kb

None.

Dec 26 2008, 11:17 pm Excalibur Post #2

The sword and the faith

The map is T > All. You didn't give terran balance, you gave them complete dominance. Main to main distance is way too short, and if Z doesn't 4pool and win, then T auto-wins due to tanks > everything in every place on this map. A single ramp, or three normal sized ramps do not make an area open. Large, custom ramps and lack of high ground make an area open. Your multiple routes are all thin and easily T dominated. The map is extremely tight and linear, avoid straight lines in the future. Also, there are reverse ramps to use over at broodwarmaps.net. Download them and use them.

SEN Global Moderator and Resident Zealot
-------------------------