Staredit Network > Forums > SC2 Assistance > Topic: Question about duplicating unit
Question about duplicating unit
May 16 2010, 8:30 pm
By: Xikura  

May 16 2010, 8:30 pm Xikura Post #1

Hello! I'm new to the SC2 editor, used both the SC1 and WC3 editor some but not that much...

I tried following this tutorial:
http://www.youtube.com/user/OneTwoSC#p/c/144BCFFBCA1EABFB/0/SBQjnT_96hQ

But I'm instead trying to just create a duplicated Zergling. But whenever I duplicate him I have ALL fields unchecked. But the "Actor", "Models" and "Sound" is removed from the list like on this picture:

http://beagle.hihm.no/112232/wtf.jpg

And if I create the unit it isn't there.

Apparently I cant seem to duplicate a unit. Anyone have any idea why?

None.

May 16 2010, 9:24 pm Xikura Post #2

Well. I managed to duplicate it now. Apparently I had to make a copy of "Actor". Only now I'm struggeling with making the unit a hero with experience level and all that. I made the unit type to be "hero" but it didn't seem to change much.

None.

May 16 2010, 9:53 pm Demented Shaman Post #3

This tutorial has pretty much all the basics for creating heroes, abilities, and items. http://www.sc2mapster.com/api-docs/getting-started-with-galaxy-edit/complete-hero/

Basically for experience and leveling up, you'll need to create a veterancy ability and give it to the hero.

None.

May 16 2010, 10:03 pm Pr0nogo Post #4

As for heroes you also need to go into the 'Flags' portion on unit data and add the 'Hero' flag.

Then you should probably edit the behavior flags to have 'Heroic' in them, but that isn't necessary.

To make experience you need to add a new behavior called 'Hero Levels.' When you type that name in, hit 'Suggest' and choose Behavior Type 'Veterancy' from the drop-down menu.
Then go to the 'Veterancy Levels' entry, and...

Hit the add variable (+x) button to the side to add a level. Then, change up its experience and you have that part done.