Staredit Network > Forums > SC2 Custom Maps > Topic: Desert Strike - Abandoned
Desert Strike - Abandoned
This topic is locked. You can no longer write replies here.
Feb 26 2012, 4:41 am
By: combatvolcano  

Feb 26 2012, 4:41 am combatvolcano Post #1

Hello Staredit community,

I am a SC1 map modder from WAY back and it has come to my attention that one of the most popular maps on battle.net, Desert Strike, was passed on by Squarely and then abandoned by Turtle who is nowhere to be found.
I have attempted to contact both and received no reply.

This is a much loved game by many and is always one of the top custom maps but has problems that need fixing. This doesn't relate to unit balance, it related to exploits and bugs.

I want to take a crack at it and perhaps support it going forward but I need the map file to do so. I am an experienced coder (VB, Python, C, others) and I think that I can fix the problems.

The issue is getting the map file. It's been a long time since I played with MPQ editors and the like and I've run against the dead end of my ability in this area.

I am looking for anyone that can assist me by providing the map file.

Thank you for your time and attention,

The Combat Volcano

None.

Feb 26 2012, 5:27 am Jack Post #2

>be faceless void >mfw I have no face

Maps are stored in your map cache; assuming the map is protected you'll need to extract it from the cache, and manually reassemble it. You have to also manually redo some parts as IIRC you can't completely copy the map if it's protected.

If it isn't protected then you can easily download it from battle.net 2 using the map editor.

I'm not sure what SEN's current policies are on map unprotecting and the like so I don't want to say more right now.

Red classic.

"In short, their absurdities are so extreme that it is painful even to quote them."

Feb 26 2012, 6:50 am combatvolcano Post #3