Staredit Network > Forums > SC1 Map Showcase > Topic: The Collector's Temple
The Collector's Temple
Mar 14 2008, 2:05 pm
By: gaiaguerrilla  

Mar 14 2008, 2:05 pm gaiaguerrilla Post #1

(NOTE: This OP originally had nothing but the title, which has been changed as per the statements up to Mini Moose).

The Collector's Temple.

I was avoiding giving this a description mainly because my basis for the level is reading the introduction programmed into it, then going by that introduction to solve clues. Saying more about it might ruin the challenge of solving the clues. As a player, it's encouraged that you wouldn't analyze anything of the map before playing. As a programmer, I assumed it's somewhat easier to download it and "what you see is what you get" that my description wouldn't be of any use to you better than the program already shows.

But I guess in the spirit that I'm only talking to programmers that are here to advise on its improvement (which is good), then my presentation is about what I want to accomplish with it -- which in turn suggests I would've been better to place it in "mapmaking" rather than "showcase". Nevertheless, here's the idea--

I want to make levels more complex than killing every enemy in sight. I'm also fond of the rpgesque feel but I don't like to make a game using Starcraft characters to emulate some other genre. It's too weird when you do that.

So I want to work within the Starcraft storyline and make interesting plots. With that said, I'm happy with opinion about the nature of the story as well as the gameplay. But there's no point in going too in-depth because this is kind of my quick test of what I want to do, considered like a rough draft.

So what do I want players to do in the game?