Staredit Network > Forums > Modding Discussion > Topic: Object limits plugin
Object limits plugin
Aug 10 2015, 11:14 pm
By: Neiv  

Sep 28 2015, 2:16 am Heinermann Post #21

SDE, BWAPI owner, hacker.

If you're actually changing the save format (which I assume you are), consider using this library. I've had some really good experiences with it after getting used to how it worked.

Sep 28 2015, 2:35 am Pr0nogo Post #22

Am I misreading this or are you discussing the possibility of simply adding new unit entries (theorised by Broodkiller when DatEdit was still being updated) instead of having to cannibalise old ones?

Sep 28 2015, 6:14 am Sand Wraith Post #23

she/her

Quote from Pr0nogo
Am I misreading this or are you discussing the possibility of simply adding new unit entries (theorised by Broodkiller when DatEdit was still being updated) instead of having to cannibalise old ones?

Actually, now that this has been mentioned, has anyone seen where/how SCBW loads *.dat files? I would be very much interested in extending how many entries there are in all of the *.dat files and forcing SCBW to load them.

EDIT: Thank you for all of your time and responses Neiv, they have been very enlightening and helpful.

Sep 28 2015, 11:09 am Neiv Post #24

Quote from Heinermann
If you're actually changing the save format (which I assume you are), consider using this library. I've had some really good experiences with it after getting used to how it worked.

Seems nice, being header-only and small =) Seems like the binary writer does not do any compression though, but it should not be too hard to create compressing streams? I need a custom stream anyways as parts of the saving code use bw's functions which write to a C stdlib FILE.