Staredit Network > Forums > Modding Assistance > Topic: Newb modder
Newb modder
Apr 7 2008, 5:18 pm
By: SuperPeyo  

Apr 7 2008, 5:18 pm SuperPeyo Post #1

Hello everybody.Well Im a newb modder^^

I dled some editing tools like Datedit , WinMPQ & some stuff.I figured out how make a tiny mod(was just a try eh) = I Made a long range turret with heavy anti-air artillery(arclite siege) =D . That was fun^^
Im making random stuff to train modding since i got the tools 1 week ago

Id like you , mighty modders , explain me some basic modding things(modder basics i guess) , the basic tool & all the stuff(very basics =D )

I also dled Firegraft to add a Attack button for Command Center(zomg gatling gun) & make a stimpack arclite siege tank (what ? terran imba?).But didn't find how use it properly
So im also searching how to use this weird tool^^'

Here.Maybe im too ambitious but nvm , i have a will of modding =D
Thx by advance

(One Last Thing=English is not my usual language =D I can understand most of things , just don't look amazed if i ask something about explanations =D)

None.

Apr 7 2008, 7:43 pm Polaris Post #2

Well, to answer your first question, there are a lot of modding things that you can do. I recommend that you have a look at the maplantis Wiki to get some ideas on where to start. There are things in there like grafting, basic iscripting, as well as some other things.
http://www.staredit.net/maplantis/index.php?sid=a752584e36;pg=wiki

For your second question, adding an attack button to the CC and giving it an attack in Datedit wont make it attack yet. You need to iscript in an attack animation; a tutorial can be found in the Wiki link I posted above.

As for the Stimpack + tank, did you get the requirements right? Check the requirements tab in firegraft, then the "Use Tech" tab under that, and find stimpacks. Then, add the tank in there with everything else.

And, WELCOME TO THE MODDING REVOLUTION!!!!!!111one