Staredit Network > Forums > Technology & Computers > Topic: Zyc's PC upgrade
Zyc's PC upgrade
Oct 30 2016, 5:25 pm
By: Zycorax  

Oct 30 2016, 5:25 pm Zycorax Post #1

Grand Moderator of the Games Forum

My graphics card (GTX 760) is more or less dead, so I'm looking for a replacement. I've been using Gainward cards for the past ten years (thanks eoLithic), but I'm considering getting something different this time, based on YOUR recommendations. I'm thinking of getting a GTX 1060, or something with a similar performance/price. The most important factor for me atm is probably good cooling. Nvidia cards are preferred.
Bought a GTX 1070 that was on sale.

I'm also looking at buying a new mobo/CPU at some point. I know fuck all about mobos, so any advice on that is appreciated. The only requirement I have is a minimum of 8 SATA slots. As for the CPU, I'm looking for something mid-range. An i5 will probably do. Intel stuff is preferred.
I'm assuming my old RAM sticks (Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz) are still going to work with a new mobo, but if they're likely to not do so, please say :P

To help you help me, here's some links to the store I usually buy my computer stuff from, conveniently labeled for those of you who are sensible enough to not know Norwegian:
Graphics cards
Motherboards
CPUs

Post has been edited 1 time(s), last time on Nov 5 2016, 2:25 pm by Zycorax.

Nov 5 2016, 6:05 pm NudeRaider Post #2

We can't explain the universe, just describe it; and we don't know whether our theories are true, we just know they're not wrong. >Harald Lesch

Just a few pointers since nobody else got something: