Staredit Network > Forums > Technology & Computers > Topic: Vrael's New Computer
Vrael's New Computer
Oct 5 2015, 2:56 am
By: Vrael  

Oct 17 2015, 7:39 am Oh_Man Post #21

Find Me On Discord (Brood War UMS Community & Staredit Network)

The reason why I went with the Predator over the ROG Swift is my preference for TN panels > IPS panels.

TN panels are like - I've never used one on a computer before, but I see them all the time on laptops. When you look at the screen from different angles the colour distorts. IPS panels don't do this. That's... my laymen's understanding of it.

The Predator is unique in that it's the first ever IPS panel at 144hz, to my knowledge. For some reason TN panels are a lot easier to get higher refresh rates on than IPS panels for some reason.

I'll make another thread about the monitor itself because I'm excited to talk about it.

Oct 23 2015, 1:40 am Vrael Post #22

Halp!

So I got all the parts, assembled, thermal pasted, screwed in, ran wires, plugged in - and poop.

So, I powered on, I get a little noise and the fans spin and there's an orange line of lights that come on on the mobo, but on my monitor I just get a no signal. I tried taking out the mobo battery, using a screwdriver to touch the CMOS pins, remounting the mobo making sure there's no supports touching the back, and powering on with only 1/4 RAM slots.

What do I do next?

Edit: that little noise is from the optical drive. When I disconnect the optical I get no noise on powerup.

None.

Oct 23 2015, 1:44 am Moose Post #23

We live in a society.

Check your motherboard's documentation to see what an orange line of lights means.

Oct 23 2015, 1:55 am Roy Post #24

An artist's depiction of an Extended Unit Death

Also try connecting the monitor to the integrated graphics instead of the graphics card and see if that gives you a signal.

Oct 23 2015, 2:04 am Vrael Post #25