Staredit Network > Forums > Modding Assistance > Topic: Mind Controlling Buildings and stuff.
Mind Controlling Buildings and stuff.
Apr 22 2014, 8:02 am
By: Arkane  

Apr 22 2014, 8:02 am Arkane Post #1

Poopies. Just Poopies.

:jaff:

i'm trying to create a hacker esque unit that's able to mind control buildings only. is there a way for me to do that using datedit and firegraft? I hope it doesnt have to involve scripting and such since I'm a noob at it. ;~;

Also, I have this iscript problem. I'm trying to add sound to a custom attack. Specifically the EMP missile attack. I'm already using a custom iscript and it seems that IceCC wont compile it for some reason. Whenever I do try to compile it, it gives me an error message with nothing written on it and then crashes. What do?

Sort of wish that the SCBW Modding Community was still active. </3

Apr 22 2014, 8:26 am Devourer Post #2

Hello

I am not a modder at all, but you can make spells having effects on specific unit types only, just like the Dark Archon's Maelstorm can only hit biological units (if I remember correctly).
You could studiy that spell and might learn from it. It does not need advanced scripting I guess (I had my hands on modding back then, for a period of months).

I can not help you in any way regarding your second problem, though.

Please report errors in the Staredit.Network forum.

Apr 22 2014, 5:45 pm O)FaRTy1billion[MM] Post #3

👻 👾 👽 💪

I think mind control might be hardcoded ... It's target flags say air, ground, and terrain (non-building unchecked). The only other reqs for mind control I see is basically "casting unit is dark archon".

What is the iscript you are trying to compile? Can you paste/upload the txt file?

TinyMap2 - Latest in map compression! ( 7/09/14 - New build! )
EUD Action Enabler - Lightweight EUD/EPD support! (ChaosLauncher/MPQDraft support!)
EUDDB - topic - Help out by adding your EUDs! Or Submit reference files in the References tab!