Staredit Network > Forums > SC2 Assistance > Topic: Modifying tilesets
Modifying tilesets
Sep 30 2011, 5:17 pm
By: Crazed  

Sep 30 2011, 5:17 pm Crazed Post #1

I'm a newb at using the data editor.

Anyways, what I would like to do is modify a terrain set and use it. The problem is that every time I create my own tileset with tiles from existing tilesets, I have no idea how to save it so that I can actually make use of it in my map.

In addition to that, what are some of the best tilesets out there for snow? I'm looking to have a map that mostly makes use of the bel-shir tileset with some snow at the top and desert at the bottom.

None.

Sep 30 2011, 7:17 pm DevliN Post #2

OVERWATCH STATUS GO

After you modify the Terrain Texture Sets, save (from the Data Editor) and close the map editor. Re-open it, and that should have them show up. I seem to recall this is one of the many things that requires you to save after modifying it, and then reloading it all right after.

http://www.galaxywiki.net/Terrain_Types_(Textures) might help a bit to reference existing terrain textures (for mixing and matching them).
http://www.galaxywiki.net/Custom_Terrain_Textures might help if you want to create or add a completely customized tileset (like something involving snow).

Moved to Art as it seemed like it would ultimately turn into a discussion about that, but I can move it back to Data if need be.

\:devlin\: Currently Working On: \:devlin\:
My Overwatch addiction.

Sep 30 2011, 7:21 pm Roy Post #3

An artist's depiction of an Extended Unit Death

To use a custom tileset you have already made:

1. Go to Map -> Map Textures.
2. In the "New Texture Set" dropdown, find your custom tileset and select it.
3. If you've already done terrain work, you can map the existing terrain to the textures of your new tileset.

To modify the current tileset:

1. Go to Map -> Map Textures.
2. If the current tileset isn't selected in the "New Texture Set" dropdown, select it.