Staredit Network > Forums > General StarCraft > Topic: Starcraft Bugs
Starcraft Bugs
Aug 25 2011, 6:33 am
By: DT_Battlekruser  

Aug 25 2011, 6:33 am DT_Battlekruser Post #1

I recently started playing a bit of Starcraft LAN games and such, and have been experiencing a surprising number of bugs. On my laptop (64-bit Seven) the color palette is scrambled somewhat on the loading screen and menu screens, and on both my laptop and older desktop (XP Pro) Starcraft seems to be crashing more than I remember. It seems to be segfaults mostly, and I got Seven to bluescreen for the first time after Starcraft crashed. Also, on my desktop as far as I can tell SC managed to take a dump all over some part of the OS and rendered it unbootable (seems like bad luck to me as to where the bad data went).

Was Starcraft always this buggy or is there something going on with my setup? It's been a while since I've played and I forget if the occasional crash or segfault is normal.

None.

Aug 25 2011, 8:41 am Lanthanide Post #2

Windows 7 colour fix from Blizzard: http://us.blizzard.com/support/article.xml?locale=en_US&articleId=36371&pageNumber=1&searchQuery=windows+7

None.

Aug 25 2011, 12:11 pm Apos Post #3

I order you to forgive yourself!

That's sick! It fixed my color problem.

@DT_Battlekruser: I've never experienced any bug like that other than the color bug. I have Windows 7 64-bit.

Aug 26 2011, 6:43 pm DT_Battlekruser Post #4

Thanks for the color registry fix - now I hopefully won't have to alt-tab to reset the palette when my screen decides to go nuts midgame.

While Starcraft was crashing on my desktop, it seems the unbootable OS *might* have been due to a very coincidentally timed failing IDE cable. I did a bit of hardware work and found it; with the hardware fixed Windows boots again.

None.

Aug 26 2011, 11:12 pm Dem0n Post #5

ᕕ( ᐛ )ᕗ