Staredit Network > Forums > SC2 Melee > Topic: (2) Derelict
(2) Derelict
Jun 27 2010, 6:49 am
By: Syphon  

Jun 27 2010, 6:49 am Syphon Post #1

Alright, so this is my first attempt ever at making a melee map.

I tried to let it be useful in as many unorthodox strategies I could think of - of note are the possibilities of using your first CC as a Planetary Fortress (It's on a double cliff and can attack units rushing in without worry of retaliation if they rush) or floating it to the close Gold Minerals due to the absurdly short distance, as the geysers can be used as blocks.

Highlighted, White is a Xel'Naga Tower, red a Destructible Rock, and yellow a curtain of Sight Blockers.

None.

Jun 27 2010, 7:45 am Syphon Post #2

Changed to have an actual path into the Mains.

http://www.mediafire.com/?z41awihfdwn

None.

Jun 27 2010, 12:53 pm Syphon Post #3

Bam, updated again

http://www.mediafire.com/?g3y22avdvgf

None.

Jun 27 2010, 2:42 pm ImagoDeo Post #4

Quote from Syphon
Changed to have an actual path into the Mains.

http://www.mediafire.com/?z41awihfdwn

Ok, um... this map is bad. Sorry.

Problem #1: Mains not big enough. This is especially bad for Terran and Protoss who need to build large numbers of production facilities.
Problem #2: Cap the tower in your base + all your scouting = done. This is bad.
Problem #3: Mineral formations block stuff. This is bad, except for Zerg early game. For them it's a plus.

End Result: Z > All. Zerg can keep an eye on their enemies all the freaking time, and they can literally wall off with an FE, and then they can move to counter anything their opponent may be doing because their FE will be hidden from the enemy tower and they can build tech there as opposed to the main. Mutas = instawin, mostly because of extremely short rush distance.